STU BROOKS Debut Album '40HZ' Out Now!

STU BROOKS Debut Album '40HZ' Out Now!

Today, GRAMMY-nominated bassist STU BROOKS has released his debut album, ‘40HZ’, on Dine Alone Records. With more than a year’s worth of build up around the record, BROOKS has dropped singles featuring a venerable who’s who of guests, including Danny Elfman, Patrick Stump, H.R. (of Bad Brains), Poppy, and more!

Stream or download the album here.

In addition to dropping '40HZ', the final single from the LP, “Write Off” (ft. Flowdan) is out now as well.

“'Write Off' started out as an instrumental that I made with my longtime collaborator Joe Tomino (the drummer from Dub Trio, Sublime, and Matisyahu). I sent a few beats to Flowdan and he chose this one and sent back an insane vocal. I was out with Dominic Fike at the time and I started mixing from the road on house PAs. Though I got it close, I recruited Bonzai for the final mix.”

In addition to his solo work, STU BROOKS is best known as a co-founder of the groundbreaking rock/dub crossover outfit Dub Trio. His studio credits span the likes of Lady Gaga, Matisyahu, G-Unit, and Mike Patton, and BROOKS currently serves as the studio and touring bassist for Danny Elfman, Dominic Fike and Sublime.

Speaking about ‘40HZ’, Brooks shares: “I’m a bass player and an artist by way of production and writing. It’s a bass player’s nature to be collaborative and supportive. The concept of this record is a collection of collaborations with friends and even some of my musical heroes. Each of these songs pushed me to new creative heights and musical territories. The album ranges from what I consider commercial sounding music to absolute hellscape, industrial, synth driven punk. This record doesn't end with the last song. It will continue for the rest of my life.”

‘40HZ’ Track List:

1. Sound The Alarm (feat. Patrick Stump)

2. Don't Really Care

3. Write Off

4. Everything She Wants

5. Fret Not

6. Mob Music

7. Laughing Stock

8. Frontline

9. Live Nude Pigs

10. They'll Just Love You (feat. Poppy + Danny Elfman)

Bass reverberates through the body and the reaction to those root notes and grooves actually manifests physically. Two-time GRAMMY® Award-nominated bassist, producer, songwriter, and Dub Trio co-founder Stu Brooks beckons this response every time he picks up a bass. Sharing the stage or the studio with everyone from Academy Award® winner Lady Gaga, Danny Elfman, Lauryn Hill, 50 Cent, and Mary J. Blige to Mike Patton, Pretty Lights, Mark Guiliana, Slick Rick, and even a posthumous recording for Tupac Shakur, his playing reverberates on an emotional and spiritual level. 

Among early gigs, 50 Cent’s G-Unit recruited STU for the 6-time platinum-selling 'Get Rich Or Die Trying'. He notably handled bass on Tony Yayo’s platinum-selling 'Thoughts of a Predicate Felon' (#2 debut on the Billboard Top 200) and Lloyd Banks’ gold-certified 'Rotten Apple' (#3 debut on the Billboard Top 200). Featuring his basslines, Yayo’s single “So Seductive” [feat. 50 Cent] went Top 10 on the Hot R&B/HipHop Songs Chart and took home “Best Club Banger” at the BET Vibe Awards. “It was awesome…I was playing bass in those sessions like I was fighting for my life,” he smiles.

Collaborations followed with Mobb Deep, Redman, Mike Patton’s Peeping Tom, Lady Gaga, and Tupac Shakur on 'Pac’s Life'. In 2014, he received a GRAMMY® Award nomination in the category of “Best Dance/Electronic Album” for his contribution to Pretty Lights'A Color Map of the Sun'. Along the way, STU lent his talents to the Saturday Night Live Band, notably appearing during a much-talked-about Kanye West and Kid Cudi set In 2018. Beyond numerous studio sessions, he served as music director for Matisyahu for ten years, co-producing and co-writing albums such as 'Akeda' and 'Undercurrent' in addition to a handful of singles.

“I find commonality in all types of music, and I’m always trying to string different genres together,” STU explains. “I believe there’s a way to thread dub, reggae, punk, hip-hop, trap, industrial, experimental jazz, and rock all together. I’m drawing on all of these influences.”

In 2022 he continued to expand his scope. He produced and co-wrote for the likes of Perry Farrell and Fever 333, and played a pivotal role in Danny Elfman’s ‘Big Mess’ release and live band. Playing bass for Danny grew into executive production on more than 20 remixes. In that process, he also produced several songs featuring guest vocalists including Trent Reznor and Iggy Pop.

Now, STU has signed his first-ever solo deal with Dine Alone Records, and is releasing his debut solo album – which he both wrote and produced on with his friends; including Patrick Stump (Fall Out Boy), Angelo Moore (Fishbone), Jason Aalon Butler (Fever 333), Paul Leary (Butthole Surfers), Perry Farrell (Jane’s Addiction), and more.

Back to blog